Negativity Zaps your Energy

When the HGTV show Holmes on Homes first aired, I enjoyed the show. I thought it was interesting how his construction firm specialized in cleaning up problems other contractors left their clients to deal with. But, over time, the show became annoying for me. Everything was so incredibly negative I felt that the show zapped all of my energy.
I also have a friend who has been so negative that I have had to love him from a distance. Everything that comes out of his mouth is a complaint or the words “no, not, never, ain’t, none, don’t, won’t, wouldn’t couldn’t, shouldn’t, impossible”. It is incredibly draining on the spirit.
So, I am now challenging myself and others to be much more careful in our choice of words. Let’s convert all negative sentences into positive statements. Here are some examples:
1. Change “I don’t want to work with that guy again” to “I would rather work with folks that share our vision”.
2. Change “I can’t make a million dollars in sales” to “I can find ways to overcome my challenges and make a million dollars in sales”; or better yet – “I will make a million dollars in sales”. Believe it! Own it!
3. Change “I can’t stand it when she does this” to “I would rather she take the time to get this right”.
4. Change “I don’t like chicken liver” to “I enjoy chicken thighs”.
I honestly believe that negative terms can be completely eliminated from our vocabulary if we put thought into it. Positive thinking helps us stay uplifted. It uplifts the spirit and energy level. As a procurement counselor, business owner, and parent, I need all of the energy I can muster. Please don’t bring me down. Well, forgive me for that bit of negativity and let me change that line to: “I want you to uplift my spirit!”.

Clovia founded Lemongrass Consulting in 2005 with 25 years of government work experience and serves as a procurement counselor in the Georgia Tech Procurement Assistance Center (GTPAC). Lemongrass Consulting provides strategic planning solutions including government contracting strategic marketing plans. http://www.lemongrassplanning.com – Follow Clovia on Twitter @lemongrassplans and like Lemongrass on Facebook at http://tinyurl.com/6cuu28o

Tags: , , ,

5 Responses to “Negativity Zaps your Energy”

  1. Gloria Watanabe Says:

    Boy, did I need those words today. I had to overcome some real negativity to accomplish my goals. I think I’ll print this out and post it to the bulletin board. Thanks.

  2. gschirr Says:

    It is so important to be surrounded with positive acheiving people. A couple negative people on your team can stop all progress…

  3. gingerclub Says:

    Dear Clovia,

    Here are some positive vibs to you! Keep up the blog and keep up the good spirit 🙂

    Ginger

Leave a Reply

